So, you like travel?

I’m joining the party and creating a travel blog. Yeah, I know, there are already countless sites consisting of jet-setters, solo female wanderers and wanderlusters, but I would like to join the party.

I must admit, I feel like a bit of a fraud as I sit and type this in my dingy flat in Dundee, Scotland. ‘How can you love travel if you are sitting at home in your pyjamas?’, you may ask. But I think this is something that many of us can relate to. All too regularly a video/news article will pop up on my Facebook feed consisting of a happy couple voyaging around the world. ‘I gave up my job and now my life is great’, ‘9-5 just wasn’t for me’ or ‘everyone should do this’. And I’ll sit there and reflect how this is exactly how I should be spending my life, but the truth is I have no job to pack in (I have only just graduated), I have no house to sell (see above: ‘dingy flat’), I have no money (see above: ‘just graduated’) and my car would sell for pittance. So instead, I must sit here and plan for better days, when I have it all so that I may then pack it in.

Although, I have been lucky, I have traveled like most people do. Save, go on a very enjoyable two week trip, rinse and repeat. However, I dream of an extended escapade where I don’t look back and how I aim to do this I will cover in future posts, as well as some of the destinations I have been lucky enough to visit.

Recently, I was gifted the book ‘Microadventures’ by an adventurer I have followed for some time now and have admired (and had a really strange dream about recently, but you don’t want to know), Alastair Humphreys. In the book he details how, even when going about your normal 9-5 routine, it is possible to add excitement and adventure by going on what he terms microadventures. It is rather good stuff and includes exploring the area around you and camping in more unusual spaces. I truly think I’ll try some of them out, and I have bought a bivvy bag recently in order to do so, so watch this space.

Thanks for reading my first installment. I think you should go away and have a cookie for making it to the end.

IMG_7640

Trying to be sophisticated at the Alhambra, Granada (Spain).

Leave a comment